The Soldier’s Tale


  • Date

    03/03 (Fri.) 19:30

  • Venue

    National Concert Hall

  • Producer

    Hsu Chia-chu  

  • Price

    NT$ 500 700 900 1200 1600 2000 2500

Reproduction of classic musical with the dream cast
The Soldier’s Tale glamorously appearing on the stage

Established in 1989, the Taipei Soloist Ensemble is composed of soloists of woodwind, strings, percussion, and piano. In 1994, the ensemble collaborated with Lü Shao-chia, Luo Bei-an and Chen Yang in presenting Igor Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale , winning enthusiastic response. The 2003 NTCH Soloists Series also concluded with The Soldier’s Tale as the grand finale, which was engineered by Hsu Chia-chu and presented by the ensemble’s members, such as Su Shien-ta, Ju Tzong-Ching, William Wei-Leng Chen and Lina Yeh as well as other renowned Taiwanese musicians. Conducted by Amy Chang and directed by Li Huan-hsiun, the production showed the unlimited possibility of music integrated with other forms of arts.

In 2016, the Taipei Soloist Ensemble reunites these old friends and invites many famous musicians to form a “dream cast” in re-interpreting the theatrical masterpiece. In addition, the concert also presents two pieces of chamber music: Lai De-he∣Woodwind Quintet ,Ludwig van Beethoven∣Quintet in E-flat major, Op.16. You are cordially invited to join us in reliving the good old days of the Taipei Soloist Ensemble.

Producer │ Hsu Chia-chu

Hsu Chia-chu, bassoonist, has participated and co-founded Taipei Woodwind Quintet, Taipei Soloist Ensemble, and Hsu Chia-chu Bassoon Ensemble. He has also been the lead bassoonist, Vice Director and Director of Taipei Symphony Orchestra. Currently, Hsu is Director of Department of Applied Music, Aletheia University.

Creative Team

  • Producer and Bassoon: Hsu Chia-chu
  • Flute: You Ya-hui
  • Oboe: Lee Pei-chi
  • Clarinet: Chen Wei-leng
  • French Horn: Chuang Ssu-yuan
  • Piano: Lina Yeh
  • Oboe: Liu Rong-yi
  • Conductor: Amy Chang
  • Violin: Su Shien-Ta
  • Trumpet: Yeh Shu-han
  • Trombone: Song Guang-qing
  • Bass: Cho Han-han
  • Percussion: Ju Tzong-ching (Sorted by order of performances)
  • The age guidance for this production is 7+.


  • Lai De-he: Woodwind Quintet
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Quintet in E-flat major, Op.16
  • Igor Stravinsky: The Soldier's Tale